• Nov 30, 2023
  • Wage & Hour

Minimum Time Between Shifts

Minimum Time Between Shifts

What is the minimum time between shifts according to California labor law? The answers regarding consecutive hours for rest periods and minimum time between shifts may surprise workers. When in doubt, it’s always advisable to contact an employment attorney for more information on wage and hour issues.

Minimum Time Between Shifts – FAQ

is it illegal to be scheduled less than 8 hours between shifts in California? California labor laws don’t set a minimum number of hours for shift workers between shifts. Any amount of time between work shifts is perfectly legal. Most regions within California adhere to this California law.

minimum hours between shifts federal law? No federal law or state laws dictate the minimum hours of time between shifts or work split shifts. There’s nothing in The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that gives details about such shifts.

are you required to have eight consecutive hours off between shifts? There is not a minimum rest period for professional employees to take a rest break between a split shift or regular shift.

labor laws for 12 hour shifts? California law requires that employers must give overtime pay at the rate of one and one-half times the employee’s regular pay rate for all hours worked in excess of eight – up to and including – 12 hours in a workday. Overtime laws also constitute that an employee must receive time and a half pay for the first eight hours of work on the seventh consecutive day of work.

is it legal to work 24 hours straight? According to California wage and hour laws, there is no limit for the number of hours an employee can work in a single workday. They can work for 24 hours, but they are entitled to overtime pay and potentially other benefits, too.

how many breaks do you get in a 12 hour shift? An employee working more than ten hours in one shift is entitled to a second 30-minute meal break. The employer must provide a second break no later than the end of the tenth work hour.

how long can an employer keep you after your shift? An employer cannot force employees to stay longer than their scheduled shift. However, an employer does have the right to ask employees to stay beyond their shift. Employees may do so as long as they are being compensated for their time.

how many hours do you have to have between shifts in California? There is no specified time for rest periods in between shifts.

can you work two shifts in one day? Employers may schedule employees to work double time. One shift could end at noon, and another could start at 3 pm. Employers could schedule employees to work from 3pm to 11pm and clock back at 5am until 12pm. Both scenarios wouldn’t violate any California overtime laws.

RELATED INSIGHTS

Read more about how we can help with your legal issue.

Employee Cell Phone Rights
  • Jun 20, 2024
  • Wage & Hour

Employee Cell Phone Rights

Travel Time Pay For Hourly Employees
  • Jun 06, 2024
  • Wage & Hour

Travel Time Pay for Hourly Employees

What Is Double Time Pay
  • Jun 04, 2024
  • Wage & Hour

What is Double Time Pay?

FREE CONSULTATION

Treated Unfairly? Fight for What Belongs to You.

CASE EVALUATION
Call Now!

OUR
OFFICE:

410 ARDEN AVE, SUITE 203 GLENDALE, CA 91203
GET DIRECTIONS