• Feb 29, 2024
  • Wage & Hour

California 4 Hour Minimum Pay Details

California 4 Hour Minimum Pay

According to California’s 4-hour minimum pay rule, also known as the reporting time pay law, if an employee is scheduled to work a shift and reports to work as scheduled, they are entitled to receive compensation for at least half of their scheduled shift, or for two hours, whichever is greater.

Similarly, reporting time pay or “show-up pay” applies when employees report to work but are not provided with their expected hours of work. This requirement ensures that employees are compensated for their time and effort, even if they are not ultimately needed for their scheduled shift.

Under California reporting time pay law, if an employee reports to work for a scheduled shift and is sent home early or works fewer hours than their regular shift, they are generally entitled to receive reporting time pay. The amount of reporting time pay is specified by 4 hour minimum shift law and is based on the employee’s scheduled shift length:

  1. Minimum Reporting Time Pay Law:
    • If an employee reports to work but is not provided with at least half of their scheduled shift’s hours, they are entitled to a minimum of half of their regular shift’s pay – but not less than two hours’ pay and not more than four hours’ pay – at the employee’s regular rate of pay.
  2. Exceptions under California Labor Law:
    • There are exceptions to the reporting time pay requirement in certain circumstances. For example, if the employer provides advance notice to the employee to let them know of a shorter shift, or when the employee’s failure to work the full shift is due to reasons beyond the employer’s control.
  3. Calculating Pay:
    • Reporting time pay is calculated based on the employee’s regular rate of pay, which typically excludes overtime pay premiums or other additional compensation. It is important for employers to ensure accurate calculation of reporting time pay to comply with California labor laws and minimum shift pay.
  4. Applicability:
    • The reporting time pay requirement applies to most non-exempt employees covered by California wage and hour laws, including hourly employees, but there may be exceptions for certain types of employees or industries.

It’s essential for employers to understand and comply with 4 hour minimum shift law and reporting time pay requirements to avoid employees filing a potential wage and hour claim. Additionally, employees should be aware of their rights regarding reporting time pay, their minimum hours needed to work, details regarding wage and hour claims, all information regarding their scheduled hours of work. If employees have experienced Los Angeles wage and hour violations, they should contact a wage and hour law attorney at Lawyers for Justice, PC.

Reporting Time Pay – FAQ

minimum hours paid for showing up to work california? California minimum shift law stipulates that employees who report to work should be paid at least partial compensation, even if their employer tells them to go home after they arrive at their workplace.

if i show up to work and get sent home do i get paid? An employee’s shift is important. And each employee deserves to be compensated fairly if they make the effort to report to work. In California, you may be entitled to reporting time pay if you show up to work but get sent home before working half of your shift, or if you work a second shift of under 2 hours. Your employer may have to pay you for hours you did not work.

reporting time pay:

Types of situations that trigger reporting time pay can include:

1.         Physically appearing at the workplace at the shift’s start
2.         Presenting themselves for work by logging on to a computer remotely
3.         Appearing at a client’s job site
4.         Setting out on a trucking route

For more information on minimum shift pay and reporting time pay, contact the California law wage and hour lawyer team at Lawyers for Justice, PC.

shift cancelled at short notice california? If your employer gives you insufficient notice of no work, they must pay workers despite the canceled shift. This means if your employer gives you less than 24 hours’ notice (or more, depending on the arrangements required to report to work), they must pay you half your shift’s wages. This is also applicable if they send you home early.

what is the minimum hours for part-time in california? Generally, part-time means less than 40 hours per week in California. However, there isn’t really a California law that sets a hard and fast rule for full-time employment (ie: 5 eight hour shifts per week, at least eight hours per day, etc.)

can i be scheduled for a 1 hour shift? There is typically no minimum shift requirement, or minimum number of hours required for part-time or full-time employees in California.

is a 2 hour shift legal in california? Under California’s 4-Hour Minimum Pay Rule, employers cannot typically pay employees for less than 2 hours, or more than four hours, at the employee’s regular rate of pay. Reporting to work typically means being present at your workplace at the start of your scheduled shift.

can an employer send you home early? The 4 hour minimum shift law requires California employers to pay workers at least half their shift if they are told, without enough notice, there is no work (or they are sent home early.) This law is called the 4 hour minimum shift law because, in California, most full-time shifts are eight hours long (although that is not necessarily required).

what is the minimum hours for full-time in california? According to the California Department of Industrial Relations, a full-time employee works 40 hours per week.

sending employees home early california: The California Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC) wage orders require employers to pay hourly, nonexempt employees reporting time pay if the company sends them home prior to the end of a shift.


Read more about how we can help with your legal issue.

california pto laws
  • Mar 05, 2024
  • Wage & Hour

California PTO Laws


Treated Unfairly? Fight for What Belongs to You.

Call Now!